Reflecting on The Hopeful Environmentalist: 2.0

My autoethnographic research study of the climate education media niche has greatly expanded since the project pitch. Throughout this process, gaining feedback and insight from both my tutor and my peers has guided my research to be more relevant and engaging. People seem to really connect with the topic of environmentalism, even if they aren’t participating in the niche themselves. Through further research into why this might be the case, I came across the term ‘Generation Greta‘, which refers to the younger generations of people who have strong connections to, and are passionate about the issue of climate change. I believe this is term is reflective of why there is such an interest among my classmates and friends about my DA, The Hopeful Environmentalist.

Beta Feedback

The interest and engagement with my DA is apparent through an observation of the following comments made. I am glad that the strategy I have taken of ‘quality over quantity’ with my content created has relayed clearly to my peers.

The source suggested referring to problem based learning and the constructivist framework, will be of great benefit to my final research report to clearly outline how the constructivist framework has shaped my findings. The source suggested in the second comment refers to educating society through virtual literacy in the face of Covid-19. This is a fantastic source for my final research report in bringing my research into contemporary society and making it relevant to this current time.

Learning From Peers

Similarly to giving peer feedback for the pitch, this time around by observing others’ work, thinking critically about it, and providing feedback, I gained some insight into how my project can improve for the final research report.

Luke’s beta was really impressive, and my biggest take away was how well organised and structured his posts and video were. This is something that I often struggle with in the creation of my own work, so understanding how another student has worked in clear subheadings and gets straight to the point is a skill I would like to integrate into my research report and future blogs throughout my degree.

Madi’s Beta was equally professionally presented and well structured. She has a great aesthetic across her blog and video which aligns with her DA and media niche which I aspire to. She has thoroughly researched her DA and has a great understanding of her media niche which she has communicated clearly. I believe I do have a strong understanding of my niche, but I would like to improve on better communicating my understandings in the final report, so observing Madi’s work provided me with a good example of that.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.